This is a MuniPro demonstration of a redesigned Texas Bond Review Board website. It is not the official BRB site: nothing filed here reaches BRB, and the email addresses shown are BRB's own. The official site is brb.texas.gov.

County · Debt explorer

Gonzales County

Print county brief1 page, fiscal year 2025

Gonzales County's 3 independent school districts owed $102.6 million in principal outstanding at the end of fiscal year 2025, $5,118 per county resident, 47th of 156 counties and 7th of 53 (10,000 to 49,999). Computed here from BRB's tables: Debt Outstanding By Issuance Local By Year, updated by BRB 9/9/2026, loaded here 10/8/2026.

Showing debt per resident (per county resident) for independent school districts, fiscal year 2025. How it is computed: principal outstanding owed by the local governments attributed to the county, divided by the population the county government reported for the same fiscal year; computed here from BRB's tables. Method.

Debt per resident, per county resident
$5,118
Rank
47th of 156
Rank in its size band
7th of 53 (10,000 to 49,999)
Total principal outstanding
$102,555,000
Population (county government's row)
20,040
Of which multi-county issuers
$0

Every bond issue in Gonzales County in the bond database

Debt by government type, fiscal year 2025

Download CSV
Principal outstanding by government type; the table below gives the figures.Independent School Districts: $103million
Principal outstanding by government type
Type?Issuers?Principal outstanding?Share?
Independent School Districts3$102,555,000100.0%
Total3$102,555,000100.0%

Scroll for more columns →

Principal outstanding by government type
Type?Issuers?Principal outstanding?Share?
Independent School Districts3$102,555,000100.0%
Total3$102,555,000100.0%

Governments attributed to Gonzales County

Download CSV

Each counts here because Gonzales is the first county BRB lists for it. Per resident uses the government's own reported population, where it reports one.

Governments attributed to the county, fiscal year 2025. Select a column heading to sort by it.
Issuer ?Type ?Principal outstanding ?Per resident ?
Gonzales ISDIndependent School Districts$64,210,000$3,267
Nixon-Smiley CISDIndependent School Districts$31,725,000$6,350
Waelder ISDIndependent School Districts$6,620,000$2,475

Scroll for more columns →

Governments attributed to the county, fiscal year 2025. Select a column heading to sort by it.
Issuer ?Type ?Principal outstanding ?Per resident ?
Gonzales ISDIndependent School Districts$64,210,000$3,267
Nixon-Smiley CISDIndependent School Districts$31,725,000$6,350
Waelder ISDIndependent School Districts$6,620,000$2,475
  1. Gonzales ISDIndependent School DistrictsPrincipal $64,210,000Per resident: $3,267
  2. Nixon-Smiley CISDIndependent School DistrictsPrincipal $31,725,000Per resident: $6,350
  3. Waelder ISDIndependent School DistrictsPrincipal $6,620,000Per resident: $2,475

Rows 1–3 of 3

Skip the governments table

Also serve Gonzales County

No issuer counted in another county lists Gonzales County.

Over the years

Download CSV
Principal outstanding at each fiscal year end; the table below gives the figures.$43.6 million2016$41.4 million2017$39.6 million2018$39.7 million2019$37.2 million2020$35.0 million2021$36.0 million2022$55.4 million2023$97.7 million2024$103 million2025
2016: $43.6 million; 2025: $103 million
Principal outstanding, issuers, population and debt per resident at each fiscal year end
Fiscal year?Principal outstanding?Issuers?Population?Debt per resident?
Fiscal year2025Principal outstanding$102,555,000Issuers3Population20,040Debt per resident$5,118
Fiscal year2024Principal outstanding$97,688,500Issuers3PopulationNot reportedDebt per residentNot reported
Fiscal year2023Principal outstanding$55,409,000Issuers3PopulationNot reportedDebt per residentNot reported
Fiscal year2022Principal outstanding$36,047,000Issuers3PopulationNot reportedDebt per residentNot reported
Fiscal year2021Principal outstanding$34,987,000Issuers3PopulationNot reportedDebt per residentNot reported
Fiscal year2020Principal outstanding$37,244,500Issuers3PopulationNot reportedDebt per residentNot reported
Fiscal year2019Principal outstanding$39,744,000Issuers3Population20,826Debt per resident$1,908
Fiscal year2018Principal outstanding$39,576,500Issuers3Population20,893Debt per resident$1,894
Fiscal year2017Principal outstanding$41,389,500Issuers3Population20,876Debt per resident$1,983
Fiscal year2016Principal outstanding$43,643,000Issuers3Population20,573Debt per resident$2,121

Scroll for more columns →

Principal outstanding, issuers, population and debt per resident at each fiscal year end
Fiscal year?Principal outstanding?Issuers?Population?Debt per resident?
Fiscal year2025Principal outstanding$102,555,000Issuers3Population20,040Debt per resident$5,118
Fiscal year2024Principal outstanding$97,688,500Issuers3PopulationNot reportedDebt per residentNot reported
Fiscal year2023Principal outstanding$55,409,000Issuers3PopulationNot reportedDebt per residentNot reported
Fiscal year2022Principal outstanding$36,047,000Issuers3PopulationNot reportedDebt per residentNot reported
Fiscal year2021Principal outstanding$34,987,000Issuers3PopulationNot reportedDebt per residentNot reported
Fiscal year2020Principal outstanding$37,244,500Issuers3PopulationNot reportedDebt per residentNot reported
Fiscal year2019Principal outstanding$39,744,000Issuers3Population20,826Debt per resident$1,908
Fiscal year2018Principal outstanding$39,576,500Issuers3Population20,893Debt per resident$1,894
Fiscal year2017Principal outstanding$41,389,500Issuers3Population20,876Debt per resident$1,983
Fiscal year2016Principal outstanding$43,643,000Issuers3Population20,573Debt per resident$2,121

How these figures are made

Debt per resident

Principal outstanding owed by the local governments attributed to the county, divided by the population the county government reported for the same fiscal year; computed here from BRB's tables for fiscal year 2025. The denominator is the population on Gonzales County government's own row (20,040 residents). With one government type chosen it is debt per county resident, not per resident of those governments. A county with no county-government row for the year shows "Not reported" for this measure.

Which governments count here

BRB's County field lists every county an issuer serves and gives no shares. An issuer's debt counts in its home county, the first county listed for it, so each dollar counts once statewide. Issuers that list Gonzales County but count in another are under "Also serve Gonzales County". Per resident in the issuer list uses each government's own reported population, where it reports one.

Not reported means no government of the chosen type in the county reported the amount that year, or the denominator was not reported. It is never shown as zero.

Fiscal years: Texas fiscal years run September 1 to August 31. Local governments report at the end of their own fiscal year, as BRB's tables do.

The full method, with the class breaks and the size bands, is on the explorer's main page. Sources are listed below.

EMMA links appear after review.

Source: Local Issuance Fee By Year (updated by the publisher 10/6/2026); Debt Outstanding By Issuance Local By Year (updated by the publisher 9/9/2026). Loaded here 10/8/2026.

Texas fiscal years run September 1 to August 31.

Issuer names are shown as BRB publishes them, spellings included.

Figures are as reported to the agency and have not been independently verified.