This is a MuniPro demonstration of a redesigned Texas Bond Review Board website. It is not the official BRB site: nothing filed here reaches BRB, and the email addresses shown are BRB's own. The official site is brb.texas.gov.

County · Debt explorer

Rockwall County

Print county brief1 page, fiscal year 2025

Rockwall County's 2 independent school districts owed $1.61 billion in principal outstanding at the end of fiscal year 2025, $11,740 per county resident, 12th of 156 counties and 1st of 31 (100,000 to 499,999). Computed here from BRB's tables: Debt Outstanding By Issuance Local By Year, updated by BRB 9/9/2026, loaded here 10/8/2026.

Showing debt per resident (per county resident) for independent school districts, fiscal year 2025. How it is computed: principal outstanding owed by the local governments attributed to the county, divided by the population the county government reported for the same fiscal year; computed here from BRB's tables. Method.

Debt per resident, per county resident
$11,740
Rank
12th of 156
Rank in its size band
1st of 31 (100,000 to 499,999)
Total principal outstanding
$1,608,931,587
Population (county government's row)
137,044
Of which multi-county issuers
$0

Every bond issue in Rockwall County in the bond database

Debt by government type, fiscal year 2025

Download CSV
Principal outstanding by government type; the table below gives the figures.Independent School Districts: $1.6billion
Principal outstanding by government type
Type?Issuers?Principal outstanding?Share?
Independent School Districts2$1,608,931,587100.0%
Total2$1,608,931,587100.0%

Scroll for more columns →

Principal outstanding by government type
Type?Issuers?Principal outstanding?Share?
Independent School Districts2$1,608,931,587100.0%
Total2$1,608,931,587100.0%

Governments attributed to Rockwall County

Download CSV

Each counts here because Rockwall is the first county BRB lists for it. Per resident uses the government's own reported population, where it reports one.

Governments attributed to the county, fiscal year 2025. Select a column heading to sort by it.
Issuer ?Type ?Principal outstanding ?Per resident ?
Rockwall ISDIndependent School Districts$919,218,985$9,297
Royse City ISDIndependent School Districts$689,712,602$16,700

Scroll for more columns →

Governments attributed to the county, fiscal year 2025. Select a column heading to sort by it.
Issuer ?Type ?Principal outstanding ?Per resident ?
Rockwall ISDIndependent School Districts$919,218,985$9,297
Royse City ISDIndependent School Districts$689,712,602$16,700
  1. Rockwall ISDIndependent School DistrictsPrincipal $919,218,985Per resident: $9,297
  2. Royse City ISDIndependent School DistrictsPrincipal $689,712,602Per resident: $16,700

Rows 1–2 of 2

Skip the governments table

Also serve Rockwall County

No issuer counted in another county lists Rockwall County.

Over the years

Download CSV
Principal outstanding at each fiscal year end; the table below gives the figures.$528 million2016$586 million2017$573 million2018$663 million2019$651 million2020$742 million2021$1.0 billion2022$1.4 billion2023$1.6 billion2024$1.6 billion2025
2016: $528 million; 2025: $1.6 billion
Principal outstanding, issuers, population and debt per resident at each fiscal year end
Fiscal year?Principal outstanding?Issuers?Population?Debt per resident?
Fiscal year2025Principal outstanding$1,608,931,587Issuers2Population137,044Debt per resident$11,740
Fiscal year2024Principal outstanding$1,550,488,614Issuers2Population131,307Debt per resident$11,808
Fiscal year2023Principal outstanding$1,408,019,815Issuers2Population123,208Debt per resident$11,428
Fiscal year2022Principal outstanding$1,046,103,734Issuers2Population116,381Debt per resident$8,989
Fiscal year2021Principal outstanding$741,889,136Issuers2Population107,819Debt per resident$6,881
Fiscal year2020Principal outstanding$651,135,623Issuers2Population104,915Debt per resident$6,206
Fiscal year2019Principal outstanding$662,797,531Issuers2Population100,657Debt per resident$6,585
Fiscal year2018Principal outstanding$573,452,665Issuers2Population96,788Debt per resident$5,925
Fiscal year2017Principal outstanding$585,898,434Issuers2Population93,978Debt per resident$6,234
Fiscal year2016Principal outstanding$527,507,744Issuers2Population90,861Debt per resident$5,806

Scroll for more columns →

Principal outstanding, issuers, population and debt per resident at each fiscal year end
Fiscal year?Principal outstanding?Issuers?Population?Debt per resident?
Fiscal year2025Principal outstanding$1,608,931,587Issuers2Population137,044Debt per resident$11,740
Fiscal year2024Principal outstanding$1,550,488,614Issuers2Population131,307Debt per resident$11,808
Fiscal year2023Principal outstanding$1,408,019,815Issuers2Population123,208Debt per resident$11,428
Fiscal year2022Principal outstanding$1,046,103,734Issuers2Population116,381Debt per resident$8,989
Fiscal year2021Principal outstanding$741,889,136Issuers2Population107,819Debt per resident$6,881
Fiscal year2020Principal outstanding$651,135,623Issuers2Population104,915Debt per resident$6,206
Fiscal year2019Principal outstanding$662,797,531Issuers2Population100,657Debt per resident$6,585
Fiscal year2018Principal outstanding$573,452,665Issuers2Population96,788Debt per resident$5,925
Fiscal year2017Principal outstanding$585,898,434Issuers2Population93,978Debt per resident$6,234
Fiscal year2016Principal outstanding$527,507,744Issuers2Population90,861Debt per resident$5,806

How these figures are made

Debt per resident

Principal outstanding owed by the local governments attributed to the county, divided by the population the county government reported for the same fiscal year; computed here from BRB's tables for fiscal year 2025. The denominator is the population on Rockwall County government's own row (137,044 residents). With one government type chosen it is debt per county resident, not per resident of those governments. A county with no county-government row for the year shows "Not reported" for this measure.

Which governments count here

BRB's County field lists every county an issuer serves and gives no shares. An issuer's debt counts in its home county, the first county listed for it, so each dollar counts once statewide. Issuers that list Rockwall County but count in another are under "Also serve Rockwall County". Per resident in the issuer list uses each government's own reported population, where it reports one.

Not reported means no government of the chosen type in the county reported the amount that year, or the denominator was not reported. It is never shown as zero.

Fiscal years: Texas fiscal years run September 1 to August 31. Local governments report at the end of their own fiscal year, as BRB's tables do.

The full method, with the class breaks and the size bands, is on the explorer's main page. Sources are listed below.

EMMA links appear after review.

Source: Local Issuance Fee By Year (updated by the publisher 10/6/2026); Debt Outstanding By Issuance Local By Year (updated by the publisher 9/9/2026). Loaded here 10/8/2026.

Texas fiscal years run September 1 to August 31.

Issuer names are shown as BRB publishes them, spellings included.

Figures are as reported to the agency and have not been independently verified.