This is a MuniPro demonstration of a redesigned Texas Bond Review Board website. It is not the official BRB site: nothing filed here reaches BRB, and the email addresses shown are BRB's own. The official site is brb.texas.gov.

County · Debt explorer

Waller County

Print county brief1 page, fiscal year 2025

Waller County's 3 independent school districts owed $1.3 billion in principal outstanding at the end of fiscal year 2025, 23rd of 245 counties and 1st of 26. Figures as loaded 10/9/2026.

Showing total principal outstanding for independent school districts, fiscal year 2025. How it is computed: principal outstanding at the fiscal year end, summed over the local governments attributed to the county; computed here from BRB's tables. Method.

Total principal outstanding
$1,317,337,994
Rank
23rd of 245
Rank in its size band
1st of 26
Total principal outstanding
$1,317,337,994
Population (county government's row)
65,109
Of which multi-county issuers
$0

Every bond issue in Waller County in the bond database

Debt by government type, fiscal year 2025

Download CSV
Principal outstanding by government type; the table below gives the figures.Independent School Districts: $1.3billion
Principal outstanding by government type
Type?Issuers?Principal outstanding?Share?
Independent School Districts3$1,317,337,994100.0%
Total3$1,317,337,994100.0%

Scroll for more columns →

Principal outstanding by government type
Type?Issuers?Principal outstanding?Share?
Independent School Districts3$1,317,337,994100.0%
Total3$1,317,337,994100.0%

Governments attributed to Waller County

Download CSV

Each counts here because Waller is the first county BRB lists for it. Per resident uses the government's own reported population, where it reports one.

Governments attributed to the county, fiscal year 2025. Select a column heading to sort by it.
Issuer ?Type ?Principal outstanding ?Per resident ?
Waller ISDIndependent School Districts$1,094,615,000$21,083
Royal ISDIndependent School Districts$172,147,994$11,511
Hempstead ISDIndependent School Districts$50,575,000$3,751

Scroll for more columns →

Governments attributed to the county, fiscal year 2025. Select a column heading to sort by it.
Issuer ?Type ?Principal outstanding ?Per resident ?
Waller ISDIndependent School Districts$1,094,615,000$21,083
Royal ISDIndependent School Districts$172,147,994$11,511
Hempstead ISDIndependent School Districts$50,575,000$3,751
  1. Waller ISDIndependent School DistrictsPrincipal $1,094,615,000Per resident: $21,083
  2. Royal ISDIndependent School DistrictsPrincipal $172,147,994Per resident: $11,511
  3. Hempstead ISDIndependent School DistrictsPrincipal $50,575,000Per resident: $3,751

Rows 1–3 of 3

Skip the governments table

Also serve Waller County

No issuer counted in another county lists Waller County.

Over the years

Download CSV
Principal outstanding at each fiscal year end; the table below gives the figures.$216.0 million2016$207.7 million2017$198.8 million2018$188.9 million2019$386.7 million2020$444.7 million2021$434.7 million2022$823.7 million2023$869.3 million2024$1.3 billion2025
2016: $216.0 million; 2025: $1.3 billion
Principal outstanding, issuers, population and total principal outstanding at each fiscal year end
Fiscal year?Principal outstanding?Issuers?Population?Total principal outstanding?
Fiscal year2025Principal outstanding$1,317,337,994Issuers3Population65,109Total principal outstanding$1,317,337,994
Fiscal year2024Principal outstanding$869,283,994Issuers3Population63,553Total principal outstanding$869,283,994
Fiscal year2023Principal outstanding$823,715,994Issuers3Population61,894Total principal outstanding$823,715,994
Fiscal year2022Principal outstanding$434,694,189Issuers3Population59,781Total principal outstanding$434,694,189
Fiscal year2021Principal outstanding$444,659,525Issuers3Population56,794Total principal outstanding$444,659,525
Fiscal year2020Principal outstanding$386,691,104Issuers3Population55,246Total principal outstanding$386,691,104
Fiscal year2019Principal outstanding$188,911,116Issuers3Population53,126Total principal outstanding$188,911,116
Fiscal year2018Principal outstanding$198,797,884Issuers3Population51,307Total principal outstanding$198,797,884
Fiscal year2017Principal outstanding$207,734,134Issuers3Population50,115Total principal outstanding$207,734,134
Fiscal year2016Principal outstanding$216,003,511Issuers3Population48,656Total principal outstanding$216,003,511

Scroll for more columns →

Principal outstanding, issuers, population and total principal outstanding at each fiscal year end
Fiscal year?Principal outstanding?Issuers?Population?Total principal outstanding?
Fiscal year2025Principal outstanding$1,317,337,994Issuers3Population65,109Total principal outstanding$1,317,337,994
Fiscal year2024Principal outstanding$869,283,994Issuers3Population63,553Total principal outstanding$869,283,994
Fiscal year2023Principal outstanding$823,715,994Issuers3Population61,894Total principal outstanding$823,715,994
Fiscal year2022Principal outstanding$434,694,189Issuers3Population59,781Total principal outstanding$434,694,189
Fiscal year2021Principal outstanding$444,659,525Issuers3Population56,794Total principal outstanding$444,659,525
Fiscal year2020Principal outstanding$386,691,104Issuers3Population55,246Total principal outstanding$386,691,104
Fiscal year2019Principal outstanding$188,911,116Issuers3Population53,126Total principal outstanding$188,911,116
Fiscal year2018Principal outstanding$198,797,884Issuers3Population51,307Total principal outstanding$198,797,884
Fiscal year2017Principal outstanding$207,734,134Issuers3Population50,115Total principal outstanding$207,734,134
Fiscal year2016Principal outstanding$216,003,511Issuers3Population48,656Total principal outstanding$216,003,511

How these figures are made

Total principal outstanding

Principal outstanding at the fiscal year end, summed over the local governments attributed to the county; computed here from BRB's tables for fiscal year 2025. It has no denominator.

Which governments count here

BRB's County field lists every county an issuer serves and gives no shares. An issuer's debt counts in its home county, the first county listed for it, so each dollar counts once statewide. Issuers that list Waller County but count in another are under "Also serve Waller County". Per resident in the issuer list uses each government's own reported population, where it reports one.

Not reported means no government of the chosen type in the county reported the amount that year, or the denominator was not reported. It is never shown as zero.

Fiscal years: Texas fiscal years run September 1 to August 31. Local governments report at the end of their own fiscal year, as BRB's tables do.

The full method, with the class breaks and the size bands, is on the explorer's main page. Sources are listed below.

EMMA links appear after review.

Source: Local Issuance Fee By Year (updated by the publisher 10/6/2026); Debt Outstanding By Issuance Local By Year (updated by the publisher 9/9/2026). Loaded here 10/9/2026.

Texas fiscal years run September 1 to August 31.

Issuer names are shown as published, without source footnote letters.

Figures are as reported to the agency and have not been independently verified.