This is a MuniPro demonstration of a redesigned Texas Bond Review Board website. It is not the official BRB site: nothing filed here reaches BRB, and the email addresses shown are BRB's own. The official site is brb.texas.gov.

County · Debt explorer

Harris County

Print county brief1 page, fiscal year 2025

Harris County's 24 cities owed $16.40 billion in principal outstanding at the end of fiscal year 2025, $3,273 per county resident, 24th of 150 counties and 8th of 12 (500,000 and over). Computed here from BRB's tables: Debt Outstanding By Issuance Local By Year, updated by BRB 9/9/2026, loaded here 10/8/2026.

Showing debt per resident (per county resident) for cities, fiscal year 2025. How it is computed: principal outstanding owed by the local governments attributed to the county, divided by the population the county government reported for the same fiscal year; computed here from BRB's tables. Method.

Debt per resident, per county resident
$3,273
Rank
24th of 150
Rank in its size band
8th of 12 (500,000 and over)
Total principal outstanding
$16,396,219,488
Population (county government's row)
5,009,302
Of which multi-county issuers
$0

Every bond issue in Harris County in the bond database

Debt by government type, fiscal year 2025

Download CSV
Principal outstanding by government type; the table below gives the figures.Cities: $16.4 billion
Principal outstanding by government type
Type?Issuers?Principal outstanding?Share?
Cities24$16,396,219,488100.0%
Total24$16,396,219,488100.0%

Scroll for more columns →

Principal outstanding by government type
Type?Issuers?Principal outstanding?Share?
Cities24$16,396,219,488100.0%
Total24$16,396,219,488100.0%

Governments attributed to Harris County

Download CSV

Each counts here because Harris is the first county BRB lists for it. Per resident uses the government's own reported population, where it reports one.

Governments attributed to the county, fiscal year 2025. Select a column heading to sort by it.
Issuer ?Type ?Principal outstanding ?Per resident ?
HoustonCities$15,359,469,488$6,426
BaytownCities$199,890,000$2,324
PasadenaCities$151,290,000$1,011
Deer ParkCities$140,280,000$4,067
TomballCities$124,414,000$8,211
BellaireCities$92,390,000$5,298
West University PlaceCities$72,105,000$4,760
La PorteCities$50,125,000$1,317
SeabrookCities$40,036,000$2,865
Jersey VillageCities$35,790,000$4,594
WebsterCities$31,580,000$2,517
KatyCities$22,525,000$812
Spring ValleyCities$22,260,000$5,066
Southside PlaceCities$10,825,000$5,673
Nassau BayCities$10,225,000$1,955
Bunker HillCities$8,590,000$2,209
Morgan's PointCities$7,780,000$28,498
ShoreacresCities$3,745,000$2,432
Hedwig VillageCities$3,355,000$1,406
Galena ParkCities$3,115,000$298
Hilshire VillageCities$2,830,000$3,381
South HoustonCities$2,580,000$160
Piney Point VillageCities$860,000$274
El LagoCities$160,000$54

Scroll for more columns →

Governments attributed to the county, fiscal year 2025. Select a column heading to sort by it.
Issuer ?Type ?Principal outstanding ?Per resident ?
HoustonCities$15,359,469,488$6,426
BaytownCities$199,890,000$2,324
PasadenaCities$151,290,000$1,011
Deer ParkCities$140,280,000$4,067
TomballCities$124,414,000$8,211
BellaireCities$92,390,000$5,298
West University PlaceCities$72,105,000$4,760
La PorteCities$50,125,000$1,317
SeabrookCities$40,036,000$2,865
Jersey VillageCities$35,790,000$4,594
WebsterCities$31,580,000$2,517
KatyCities$22,525,000$812
Spring ValleyCities$22,260,000$5,066
Southside PlaceCities$10,825,000$5,673
Nassau BayCities$10,225,000$1,955
Bunker HillCities$8,590,000$2,209
Morgan's PointCities$7,780,000$28,498
ShoreacresCities$3,745,000$2,432
Hedwig VillageCities$3,355,000$1,406
Galena ParkCities$3,115,000$298
Hilshire VillageCities$2,830,000$3,381
South HoustonCities$2,580,000$160
Piney Point VillageCities$860,000$274
El LagoCities$160,000$54
  1. HoustonCitiesPrincipal $15,359,469,488Per resident: $6,426
  2. BaytownCitiesPrincipal $199,890,000Per resident: $2,324
  3. PasadenaCitiesPrincipal $151,290,000Per resident: $1,011
  4. Deer ParkCitiesPrincipal $140,280,000Per resident: $4,067
  5. TomballCitiesPrincipal $124,414,000Per resident: $8,211
  6. BellaireCitiesPrincipal $92,390,000Per resident: $5,298
  7. West University PlaceCitiesPrincipal $72,105,000Per resident: $4,760
  8. La PorteCitiesPrincipal $50,125,000Per resident: $1,317
  9. SeabrookCitiesPrincipal $40,036,000Per resident: $2,865
  10. Jersey VillageCitiesPrincipal $35,790,000Per resident: $4,594
  11. WebsterCitiesPrincipal $31,580,000Per resident: $2,517
  12. KatyCitiesPrincipal $22,525,000Per resident: $812
  13. Spring ValleyCitiesPrincipal $22,260,000Per resident: $5,066
  14. Southside PlaceCitiesPrincipal $10,825,000Per resident: $5,673
  15. Nassau BayCitiesPrincipal $10,225,000Per resident: $1,955
  16. Bunker HillCitiesPrincipal $8,590,000Per resident: $2,209
  17. Morgan's PointCitiesPrincipal $7,780,000Per resident: $28,498
  18. ShoreacresCitiesPrincipal $3,745,000Per resident: $2,432
  19. Hedwig VillageCitiesPrincipal $3,355,000Per resident: $1,406
  20. Galena ParkCitiesPrincipal $3,115,000Per resident: $298
  21. Hilshire VillageCitiesPrincipal $2,830,000Per resident: $3,381
  22. South HoustonCitiesPrincipal $2,580,000Per resident: $160
  23. Piney Point VillageCitiesPrincipal $860,000Per resident: $274
  24. El LagoCitiesPrincipal $160,000Per resident: $54

Rows 1–24 of 24

Skip the governments table

Also serve Harris County

Download CSV

These 1 issuer list Harris County but count in another county, the first one listed for each:

Issuers that list this county but count in another
Issuer?Type?Counted in?Principal outstanding?
PearlandCitiesBrazoria$1,039,085,000

Scroll for more columns →

Issuers that list this county but count in another
Issuer?Type?Counted in?Principal outstanding?
PearlandCitiesBrazoria$1,039,085,000

Over the years

Download CSV
Principal outstanding at each fiscal year end; the table below gives the figures.$13.1 billion2016$12.9 billion2017$14.3 billion2018$14.1 billion2019$14.2 billion2020$14.9 billion2021$14.4 billion2022$14.3 billion2023$15.3 billion2024$16.4 billion2025
2016: $13.1 billion; 2025: $16.4 billion
Principal outstanding, issuers, population and debt per resident at each fiscal year end
Fiscal year?Principal outstanding?Issuers?Population?Debt per resident?
Fiscal year2025Principal outstanding$16,396,219,488Issuers24Population5,009,302Debt per resident$3,273
Fiscal year2024Principal outstanding$15,321,302,992Issuers25Population4,835,125Debt per resident$3,169
Fiscal year2023Principal outstanding$14,343,828,566Issuers25Population4,780,913Debt per resident$3,000
Fiscal year2022Principal outstanding$14,425,213,777Issuers25Population4,728,030Debt per resident$3,051
Fiscal year2021Principal outstanding$14,875,383,024Issuers26Population4,731,145Debt per resident$3,144
Fiscal year2020Principal outstanding$14,214,703,127Issuers26Population4,713,325Debt per resident$3,016
Fiscal year2019Principal outstanding$14,083,308,063Issuers26Population4,698,619Debt per resident$2,997
Fiscal year2018Principal outstanding$14,322,702,270Issuers25Population4,652,980Debt per resident$3,078
Fiscal year2017Principal outstanding$12,941,360,646Issuers25Population4,589,928Debt per resident$2,820
Fiscal year2016Principal outstanding$13,054,857,575Issuers25Population4,538,028Debt per resident$2,877

Scroll for more columns →

Principal outstanding, issuers, population and debt per resident at each fiscal year end
Fiscal year?Principal outstanding?Issuers?Population?Debt per resident?
Fiscal year2025Principal outstanding$16,396,219,488Issuers24Population5,009,302Debt per resident$3,273
Fiscal year2024Principal outstanding$15,321,302,992Issuers25Population4,835,125Debt per resident$3,169
Fiscal year2023Principal outstanding$14,343,828,566Issuers25Population4,780,913Debt per resident$3,000
Fiscal year2022Principal outstanding$14,425,213,777Issuers25Population4,728,030Debt per resident$3,051
Fiscal year2021Principal outstanding$14,875,383,024Issuers26Population4,731,145Debt per resident$3,144
Fiscal year2020Principal outstanding$14,214,703,127Issuers26Population4,713,325Debt per resident$3,016
Fiscal year2019Principal outstanding$14,083,308,063Issuers26Population4,698,619Debt per resident$2,997
Fiscal year2018Principal outstanding$14,322,702,270Issuers25Population4,652,980Debt per resident$3,078
Fiscal year2017Principal outstanding$12,941,360,646Issuers25Population4,589,928Debt per resident$2,820
Fiscal year2016Principal outstanding$13,054,857,575Issuers25Population4,538,028Debt per resident$2,877

How these figures are made

Debt per resident

Principal outstanding owed by the local governments attributed to the county, divided by the population the county government reported for the same fiscal year; computed here from BRB's tables for fiscal year 2025. The denominator is the population on Harris County government's own row (5,009,302 residents). With one government type chosen it is debt per county resident, not per resident of those governments. A county with no county-government row for the year shows "Not reported" for this measure.

Which governments count here

BRB's County field lists every county an issuer serves and gives no shares. An issuer's debt counts in its home county, the first county listed for it, so each dollar counts once statewide. Issuers that list Harris County but count in another are under "Also serve Harris County". Per resident in the issuer list uses each government's own reported population, where it reports one.

Not reported means no government of the chosen type in the county reported the amount that year, or the denominator was not reported. It is never shown as zero.

Fiscal years: Texas fiscal years run September 1 to August 31. Local governments report at the end of their own fiscal year, as BRB's tables do.

The full method, with the class breaks and the size bands, is on the explorer's main page. Sources are listed below.

EMMA links appear after review.

Source: Local Issuance Fee By Year (updated by the publisher 10/6/2026); Debt Outstanding By Issuance Local By Year (updated by the publisher 9/9/2026). Loaded here 10/8/2026.

Texas fiscal years run September 1 to August 31.

Issuer names are shown as BRB publishes them, spellings included.

Figures are as reported to the agency and have not been independently verified.